Full List Of Winners At 2022 Ballon d’Or Ceremony

Real Madrid forward, Karim Benzema was rewarded for his scintillating performances during the past year as he was voted the men’s best player at the Ballon d’Or award ceremony held last night.

VANTAGE NEWS reports that Benzema became the first Frenchman to win the award since Zidane won it in 1998.

Benzema, who scored 44 goals in 46 games for his club Real Madrid last term with 15 coming in the Champions League, beat the likes of Sadio Mane (2nd), Kelvin De Bruyne (3rd) and Robert Lewandowski (4th) to the prestigious award.

Africa’s own Sadio Mane received France Football’s first ever Socrates Award, in recognition of his charity work in his native Senegal.

At the award ceremony held in France, Nigeria’s only representative, Asisat Oshoala finished 16th in the women’s Ballon d’Or best player list, while Spain’s Alexia Putellas won the women’s Ballon d’Or for the second year running.

Arsenal striker Beth Mead was second, with Chelsea forward Sam Kerr in third.

Lewandowski walked home with the award for last season’s top goalscorer, renamed the Gerd Mueller Trophy, for the second straight year.

Full List

Ballon d’Or winner: Karim Benzema

Women’s Ballon d’Or winner: Alexia Putellas

Yashin trophy: Thibaut Courtois

Kopa trophy: Gavi

Gerd Muller Trophy: Robert Lewandowski

Club of the year: Manchester City

Socrates Award: Sadio Mane


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of Vantage News Nigeria or any employee thereof.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.