Adamu Holds Closed-door Meeting With APC Senators At National Assembly

Senator Abdullahi Adamu, APC national chairman

The National Chairman of the All Progressive Congress, Adamu Abdullahi, has entered a closed-door meeting with the party’s senators.

Adamu, who arrived at the National Assembly complex some minutes past 2 pm, moved to the office of the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, for a brief meeting before the general meeting.

While reading the letter signed by the Senate Deputy Majority leader, Ajayi Borofice earlier, Lawan had announced that the meeting will take place by 2 pm at the premises.

It is understood that the number of APC senators has dropped to 62 after consistent defection from the party’s lawmakers especially those who were unable to secure return tickets to the chamber.

Most recent are two senators from Bauchi and Imo States who had during the plenary resigned their membership of the All Progressives Congress and Peoples Democratic Party respectively.

The lawmakers are Senator Dauda Jika representing Bauchi Central and elected on the platform of the APC; and Senator Ezenwa Francis Onyewuchi representing Imo East Senatorial District, who was elected on the platform of the PDP.

In separate letters addressed to Lawan, both Senators conveyed their decision to resign their membership of the APC and PDP, to join the Labour Party and New Nigeria Peoples Party respectively.

In his letter, the APC lawmaker, Dauda Jika, said, “I hereby wish to notify you of my defection from the All Progressives Congress to the New Nigeria Peoples Party whose ideals are in line with my political aspirations.”

Onyewuchi, on his part, said, “I wish to inform Mr. President and a distinguished Senators of my defection from the Peoples Democratic Party to the Labour Party.

See also  'Asiwaju Is A Statesman And Builder' - Governor Sanwo-Olu

“This is after due consultation with my family, constituents and supporters.

“This will enable me participate fully in the movement for a new Nigeria.”

Today’s defection brings the number of APC Senators to 66, with members of the minority parties standing at 43.

The minority parties in the Senate are presently five in number as at Wednesday, June 22nd, 2022.

They are the PDP, Young People’s Party, All Progressives Grand Alliance, New Nigeria Peoples Party, and Labour Party.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of Vantage News Nigeria or any employee thereof.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.