2023: Buhari Mandates Emefiele, Other Appointees To Resign

CBN Governor, Godwin Emefiele

President Muhammadu Buhari has mandated all heads of agencies, departments, parastatals, and ambassadors with political ambitions to resign.

Office of the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele, among other agencies was copied in a circular cited by Vantage News on Thursday morning.

The circular was signed by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha.

The circular with reference number SGF/OP/ I/S.3/XII/ 173 was titled, ‘Ministers, heads of government agencies, ambassadors and other appointees with political ambitions to resign’.

Recall that Buhari had earlier ordered all cabinet members and appointees contesting for various political offices to resign on or before Monday, May 16, 2022.

The cabinet members affected include Ministers of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio; Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; Justice minister and Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami.

Others include the Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for governorship position in Cross Rivers State, the Minister of Women Affairs, Paulline Tallen, who declared her ambition to contest for the senatorial seat in Plateau State.

Among them, the Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba and Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio have all reportedly tendered their resignation letters already.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of Vantage News Nigeria or any employee thereof.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.