See Why We Established More Universities – FG

Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba
Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba

The minister of state for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba has defended the decision of the Federal Government to establish more universities.

According to Nwajiuba, it was part of efforts to increase access to university education in the country.

“What we have done is to at least expand access. And while we are using the resources that are available to us to improve human capacity to be able to run because those are the two things needed; buildings are not the universities. It is content that makes the universities. So as long as we keep developing human capacity around them, we will ensure we give access to our people in millions,” the minister told The Punch in an interview.

Nwajiuba revealed that the government licensed 20 universities last year and another 12 this year, saying that “It is our belief that Nigeria is still below 250 universities for 250 million people.”

Recall that the federal executive council (FEC) last Wednesday approved the establishment of 12 new private universities.

The proposed private universities are:

PEN Resource University, Gombe (under the supervision of Modibbo Adamawa University of Technology, Yola)

Al-Ansar University, Maiduguri, Borno (under the supervision of University of Maiduguri)

Margaret Lawrence University, Calilee, Delta state (under the supervision of Nnamdi Azikiwe University)

Khalifa Isiyaku Rabiu University, Kano (under Bayero University Kano)

Sports University, Idumuje, Ugboko, Delta state (under the supervision of University of Benin)

Baba Ahmed University, Kano (to be supervised by Bayero University Kano)

Saisa University of Medical Sciences and Technology, Sokoto (under the supervision of Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto)

See also  Human Trafficking: Foundation Enlightens School Children 

Nigerian British University, Asa, Abia state (under the supervision of University of Port Harcourt)

Peter University, Achina-Onneh, Anambra state (under the supervision of Nnamdi Azikiwe University)

Newgate University, Minna, Niger state (under the supervision of Federal University Minna)

European University of Nigerian, Duboyi, FCT (under the supervision of University of Abuja)

North West University, Sokoto (under the supervision of Usmanu Danfodio University)


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of Vantage News Nigeria or any employee thereof.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.