Ballon d’Or 2021: Chelsea Awarded Club Of The Year


Chelsea Football Club became the first winners of the new Club of the Year award at the Ballon d’Or 2021 ceremony.

That came as the men won the Champions League under Thomas Tuchel, while the women’s side were WSL champions under Emma Hayes.

A total of five Chelsea players were amongst 30 nominated for this year’s Ballon d’Or award, with five Chelsea Women named in the 20-strong female award.

READ ALSO: Messi Beats Lewandowski To Win Seventh Ballon d’Or

No other team had more players represented for either award than the Blues, who also had goalkeeper Edouard Mendy amongst the Yashin Trophy nominees, after becoming the first-ever African goalkeeper to win the Champions League.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of Vantage News Nigeria or any employee thereof.

See also  Breaking: Canos Scores First Goal In 2021/2022 English Premier League Season

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.