Breaking: Southern Governors Meet In Lagos

The governors at the meeting

Sixteen governors from the southern states of the country are currently meeting at the government House in Lagos.

VANTAGE NEWS learnt that the meeting is a follow up to the one earlier held in Asaba the Delta State capital in May.

It was at the meeting popularly referred to as the Asaba declaration that the governors unanimously banned open grazing, advocated for the devolution of powers, and a host of other decisions.

According to the Punch, governors present at the meeting include Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (Ondo), Nyesom Wike (Rivers), Adegboyega Oyetola (Osun), Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu), and Godwin Obaseki (Edo) represented by his deputy, Philip Shaibu.

Others are Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), Emmanuel Udom (Akwa Ibom), Diri Duoye (Bayelsa), Willie Obiano (Anambra), Ben Ayade (Cross Rivers), Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta), David Umahi (Ebonyi), Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti), Hope Uzodimma (Imo), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), and Oluwaseyi Makinde (Oyo).

Addressing reporters present at the meeting, Akeredolu, said, “We welcome all our brother Governors and we want to start our deliberations almost immediately. At the end of our meeting, our communique will be made known to you.”

Details later…

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.