Sierra Leone Completes List Of Qualified Teams For 2022 AFCON (See Full List)


The Leone Stars of Sierra Leone qualified for the delayed 2021 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) after defeating Benin Republic in the final qualifying match played at the General Lansana Conte Stadium, Conakry, Guinea.

VANTAGE NEWS had reported that the match between the two West African sides was postponed over controversy surrounding COVID-19 results of some players of the Squirrels of Benin Republic.

Benin Republic refused to play the game earlier scheduled to be played in March over COVID-19 controversy after 6 if it’s first team players tested positive for the virus.

The Squirrels of Benin Republic accused Sierra Leone of manipulating the COVID-19 test results so that key players of their team will not take part in the crucial qualifier.

Kei Ansu Kamara converted a 19th minute penalty to hand his side the last remaining AFCON ticket in the postponed match that was finally played on Tuesday.

See complete list of qualified teams for the tournament that would be hosted by Cameroon in January 2022 below:

GROUP A : Mali, Guinea.

GROUP B: Burkina Faso, Malawi.

GROUP C: Ghana, Sudan.

GROUP D: Gambia, Gabon.

GROUP E: Morocco, Mauritania.

GROUP F: Cameroon, Cape Verde.

GROUP G: Egypt, Comoros.

GROUP H: Algeria, Zimbabwe

GROUP I: Senegal, Guinea Bissau.

GROUP J: Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea

GROUP K: Ivory Coast, Ethiopia

GROUP L:  Nigeria, Sierra Leone

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.