Breaking: FG Bans Passengers From India, Brazil, Turkey Over COVID-19

Boss Mustapha
Boss Mustapha

Non-Nigerian passport holders and non-residents who visited India, Brazil and Turkey within the last 14 days will be denied entry into Nigeria.

This was part of the decisions reached by the Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19 following increasing cases and fatalities of the deadly virus in the listed countries.

In a statement titled, ‘Travel advisory for passengers arriving Nigeria from Brazil, India and Turkey,’ the committee’s chairman, Boss Mustapha said the ban subject to review after four weeks will take effect from Tuesday, May 4, 2021.

“Non-Nigerian passport holders and non-residents who visited Brazil, India or Turkey within days preceding travel to Nigeria, shall be denied entry into Nigeria,” the statement partly read.

It added, “This regulation, however, does not apply to passengers who transited through these countries.

“The following measures shall apply to airlines and passengers who fail to comply with I and II(a) above: airlines shall mandatorily pay a penalty of $3,500 for each defaulting passenger.

“Non-Nigerians will be denied entry and returned to the country of embarkation at cost to the airline.

“Nigerians and those with permanent resident permit who visited Brazil, India or Turkey within 14 days preceding travel to Nigeria shall be made to undergo seven days of mandatory quarantine in a government approved facility at the point-of-entry city and at cost to the passenger.

“The following condition shall apply to such passengers: Within 24 hours of arrival shall take a COVID-19 PCR test.

“If positive, the passenger shall be admitted within a government-approved treatment centre, in line with national treatment protocols.

“If negative, the passenger shall continue to remain in quarantine and made to undergo a repeat PCR test on day 7 of their quarantine.”

The statement also called on state governments to ensure that all returning travelers from all countries are monitored to ensure adherence to the mandatory seven-day self-isolation period and the repeat COVID-19 PCR test after the period.

The committee also said that passengers arriving Nigeria from other destinations must undergo a compulsory 7-day self isolation.

“They must carry out a COVID-19 PCR test on day 7 at selected laboratory and shall be monitored for compliance to isolation protocol by appropriate authorities.

“Passenger who provided false or misleading contact information will be liable to prosecution.

“Also, persons who willfully disregard or refuse to comply with directions of Port-Health staff, security agencies or evade quarantine shall be prosecuted in accordance with the law.”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.