CAF Fixes Date For AFCON, See Full List Of Qualified Teams


The Confederation of African Football (CAF)  has announced a date for next year’s African Cup of Nations to be hosted by Cameroon.

CAF announced after a virtual executive meeting chaired by new President, Patrice Motsepe, that the tournament originally scheduled to hold June 2021 in Cameroon will now hold from January 9 to February 6, 2022.

Qualification matches for the tournament were concluded in all groups except one in the last FIFA international window.

CAF, last year postponed qualifying matches for the tournament due to the deadly COVID-19.

CAF also announced that a draw to divide the 24 qualifiers into six groups will be held on June 25.

Teams that qualified for the tournament include defending champions, Algeria; 2019 beaten finalists and the continent’s number one ranked side, Senegal and Bronze holders, Nigeria.

Others include in hosts Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Comoros, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia and Zimbabwe.

Sierra Leone or Benin Republic will complete the teams after their postponed game is replayed in the next FIFA international window in June.

The match between the two West African sides was postponed over controversy sorrounding COVID-19 results of some players of the Squirrels of Benin Republic.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.